Saturday Thoughts

I don’t really have anything in particular to talk about today other than more hip mobility issues, but I’ll cut those out for awhile.  I figured I’d just recap a few fitness related issues on my mind.

  • I really like the TRX “Y” exercise.  It’s a great exercise for retracting and depressing the scapula. (squeezing the shoulder blades back and down)  I’ve been using it a lot in my warmups and really feel it does a great job of promoting that scapular stability we could all use more of.

Here’s the video of it :

  • I’ve been experimenting with a Dan John idea for the past couple weeks.  (Yeah, I think Dan John is pretty smart guy.)  It’s the idea of doing the same balanced workout everyday.  It kinda goes against what I would recommend, but when you know the rules it’s ok to break them once in awhile for the purpose of experimentation.  The catch for this one is the volume and intensity are low.  So I’m only doing 2 sets of 5 of each exercise and only doing 3 exercises.  (Upper push, Upper pull, hip dominant, and one set of 5 for an anti.-extension core exercise)  The concept is that it doesn’t stress out anything too much because it’s only 10 reps a day at a weight that’s challenging but not gut wrenching.  Over the course of a few weeks, you’ll feel too comfortable with the weight and go up.  I’ve seen this happen in all my lifts.  But I’m not completely exhausted  afterwards either and the warmup takes twice as long as the workout itself.  This is great for being as crunched for time as I am.  If I have 35 minutes; I have a workout!  So far I have gotten stronger in each exercise I’m using so I’m pretty excited to see results from this seemingly ridiculous concept.  (See why I like that Dan John guy?)

That’s all I got for today.  Unless I drive home on A1A by the beach and catch anything particularly ridiculous going on. (think jogging with weights or fly flailing power walks) Which is pretty possible so maybe I’ll be back to my ranting and raving later on.

-Hunter

Leave a comment

Filed under Training

Leave a Reply

