Q & A – Night Eating

Q:  Dear Abbey,

My Bros were telling me if I ever wanted to get as shredded as them I would have to stop eating after 7pm.  This girl I know also said the same thing.  She said if I ate after 7pm I would only be sitting around then going to bed, so everything I eat will just turn to fat because I won’t burn it off.  Both groups said it was ok to break this rule on Friday and Saturday nights as all the dancing and fist pumping would “burn off” all the calories.  Any truth to this, it seems a little ridiculous?  -Sleeveless in Seattle

A:  Dear Sleeveless,

Ridiculous is correct my friend!  There is nothing magical about the time of day food is consumed with only a couple exceptions.  The exceptions being breakfast, which I feel is important to get every morning upon waking, and post-workout nutrition, which is an absolute must for anyone with any set of goals.  Now that we have that out of the way, let’s look at the flaws in the “no eating at night” reasoning.

With breakfast and the meal immediately following a workout out of the conversation let’s look at the most important factors in any diet.  What you are eating, and how much of it you are eating.  That’s it, there are no other factors.  The issue with night eating is the choices people usually make after 7pm.  Let’s make one thing abundantly clear, nobody on this planet is getting fat from broccoli at 8:45pm!

"No thank you, it's 7:01p, I'm watching my weight!"

It’s what people are eating at night that is the problem.  If you eat a bowl of ice cream and an entire bag of TOSTITOS® ARTISAN RECIPES® Roasted Garlic and Black Bean Tortilla Chips, you’re going to get fat if you eat them at 9pm or 6am!  So, if you really want to get shredded and impress your bros try to focus to what you are eating and how much of it you are eating, don’t worry about the night eating myth.

On to other myths, dancing and fist pumping will have no effect on fat loss.  None whatsoever.  It’s not about the calorie burn; that has nothing to do with fat loss.  If you really want to lose fat, forget the calorie burn and focus in on what you eat, how much you eat, and the QUALITY of your workouts (“cardio” is not a workout in my eyes).

Not a workout... and neither is Zumba!

-Hunter

For more information follow me on Twitter and give Coastal Performance a “Like” on Facebook.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition

Leave a Reply

