Weight Loss Plateau?… Do this one thing

I’m normally ranting and raving about how I hate quick fixes and magic pills, but I do have one fail proof way to figure out why you may be stuck in your weight loss efforts.Now I’m not promising a quick fix, but I’m confident it will help you understand why you’re not losing fat.  I hear it all the time, “I’m eating well, I’m working out and I still just can’t seem to lose these last 10 pounds!”  Are you willing to put that to the test?

Now if they are working out with me I know they are taking care of that side of things because I’m making the decisions for them.  But I only get a few hours of their week.  It’s what happens those other 165 hours per week that are really causing the weight gain or weight loss!  That leaves us with sleep and food intake as the two unaccounted variables (no, extra cardio is NOT part of the equation and never has been).

I'd prefer you get the extra hour of sleep!

Sleep at least 7-8 hours per night.  Please.  I know I’m guilty of not getting this all the time, so I understand it’s not easy with a busy schedule.  But if you are really dedicated to your results you will make time; it’s just as important as your workouts and your diet.

Now that that’s out of the way let’s talk about the variable of all variables… your diet!  And the one thing we can do to figure out why you’re not losing weight!  

Whenever I hear someone tell me they are eating well and still not losing weight I immediately question their definition of “well” or “good” or “clean” or “organic” or “raw” or “cardio” (I ALWAYS question someone’s definition of cardio!).  But I don’t offer a 168 hour per week monitoring service, it’s hard enough to keep track of myself!  So the one thing that can give you an honest look at your eating is to WRITE IT DOWN.  Everything you put into your mouth for an entire week.  That’s the only way to really know.  If you have 3 slices of pizza at 3am, write it down.  If you walk by the kitchen and grab a handful of grapes, write it down.  If you stop at McDonald’s for a milkshake after your all organic raw vegetable whole foods dinner, write it down.  It’s that simple.

If you’re dedicated to your results and are ready for the truth about what you are eating, just write it down.  For an entire week.  Then go back and and look at just how much protein you consumed.  Was it enough?  Look at how much sugar you consumed.  Was it too much?  Look at your overall calories.  Was the number way too high?

These are the types of questions that should be answered with real concrete answers.  Not estimates.  It’s amazing how often people will grossly misinterpret what they are eating.  They will never know till it’s on paper in front of them.

But isn’t that a lot of work writing down everything you ate and figuring out how much of each macro nutrient is in each item no matter how small? Yes, and it’s not easy either.  But I never said it was going to be easy, I just promised one thing that works.

So if you’re stuck, just be honest, diligent and write down what you eat.  You just might be shocked to learn how much sugar is actually in your “light and fit” yogurt!

-Hunter

Leave a comment

Filed under Fat Loss, Nutrition

Leave a Reply

