Awesome new breakfast protein shake

I got this idea from Dave Ruel’s Metabolic Cooking.

It’s a pretty awesome cookbook.  One chapter is completely devoted to “metabolicious smoothies,” or protein shakes.  All of them look awesome, but I found one that really spoke to a few of my cravings/requirements for breakfast. 

I like to have coffee in the morning and I like to have at least 50g of protein to start my day regardless of the form.  While I would like to say I always wake up really early and have a few cups of coffee while I munch on 8 egg omelets and read the paper to catch up on current events, this isn’t always the case.  More often then not it turns into me throwing a bunch of things into the blender and drinking it as fast as I can while I run out the door trying to get to the gym to crush down a Redline Xtreme Energy Drink before I get a headache from a lack of caffeine.

I actually forget what this shake is called and the exact ingredients Ruel used, but here’s what I had this morning that worked out great.  I made a cup of coffee and put it in the blender.  I added a cup of whole milk and two scoops of chocolate protein powder.  I added a couple packets of stevia and a handful of ice cubes before I blended it until I couldn’t hear the ice anymore.  I apologized to all the neighbors I woke up with my 1977 Osterizer blender at 5:18am, drank my shake, and hit the road.

Available at a flea market near you!

It really is a great tasting shake recipe that couldn’t be easier to make!  Give it a try next time you think you don’t have enough time for a delicious breakfast.

-Hunter

For more information check us out of Facebook and follow me on Twitter @huntermcmillan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition

Leave a Reply

