First Fat Loss Article of 2012- Top 4 Fat Loss Trends for the New Year

I certainly hope you’re not checking this post at 12:00am when it gets posted.  (Don’t worry, I’m not actually at my computer writing this now).  I just wanted to write the first fat loss article of 2012 as I feel like this is going to be a big year for fat loss.  And I mean actual fat loss, not just spending a lot of money on fat loss.

I’m confident this year is going to be a big year for fat loss for a few key reasons.  These reasons are also going to reflect trends you should absolutely get in on if you want to drop some body fat this year.  I’ll start with one of my favorite topics:

1)      Less Cardio!  This is going to be one of my favorite pastimes to watch die.  This is the idea that in order to drop fat one must perform hours of ‘cardio.’  This couldn’t be further from the truth and it pains me to watch people plodding away year after year without any results to be had for their extreme time commitment.  I believe this is the year people are finally going to be fed up with buying into the cardio propaganda and start to seek professional help to achieve their weight loss goals with exercise programs designed specifically for them.

2)      More Strength Training!  This reigns especially true for women.  Watch around your gym this year, you are going to see way more females in the ‘weight’ area of the gym (it should ALL be a ‘weight’ area in this trainer’s opinion).  This is because the myth that women will get bulky from lifting weights is finally going to go to the way side.  Look around.  Are the normal women lifting weights in your gym bulky?  No, I did not say that female competitive bodybuilder, but a normal woman who spends most of her workout lifting heavy things.  She is rare, but she exists, and she probably looks awesome.  Much the way most females here in 2012 would want to look!

3)      Better Movement.  I think people are starting to make the connection between poor posture/poor movement and injuries.  It’s a slow process and it’s just starting to take hold, but if you explain to anyone with back pain that their tight hips and weak glutes are at fault they probably aren’t going to be putting up too much of an argument.  This is because it’s becoming painfully obvious that there are consequences for all of your actions, including your posture.  This falls in with fat loss because those that address their movement and postural issues are going to be those that achieve greater fat loss success.  More Movement = More Work; More Work = More Fat Loss.

4)      Less Grain/Sugar Consumption.  I’m confident that the anti-Atkins backlash is finally going to slow down this year.  As much as I think ‘Paleo’ is cliché and unnecessary (Paleo man was a 4 foot tall hairy monkey that died at age 30… just saying), I think that that particular style of dietary choices (notice I  don’t call it a diet) are going to illicit the most fat loss.  That is because it’s simple.  I’m not saying eat exactly like a caveman, but think about what we’re going to be cutting out to eat that way.  Probably all breads, pastries, cereals, etc.  If you look at the major theme behind that dietary plan it’s STOP EATING CRAP.  For most people this is going to be a huge step in the right direction.  An advanced bodybuilder style diet plan isn’t going to help you if you can’t stop eating cereal for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch!  But this all changes this year as I think the people that have been subscribing to this way of thinking are getting the results that will make heads turn and people ask questions.

Health Food for 2012

There goes my Top 4 Fat Loss Trends for 2012 that I’m looking forward to.

Have a safe and Happy New Year.

For more information of New Years Fat Loss check out Coastal Performance on Facebook or follow me on Twitter @huntermcmillan.

-Hunter

Leave a comment

Filed under Fat Loss

Leave a Reply

